Study Circle: Uneasy Alliances

Study Circle: Uneasy Alliances

 
The social and political transformation starts with the small step, the daily call, the weekly demonstration, moving outside our zone of comfort where we all identify with one another toward the uneasy alliance that stands against injustice. — Judith Butler, “This Is What Resistance Looks Like” Lecture, 2017

Der Study Circle Uneasy Alliances basiert auf der Frage, wie Affekt und sozialer Wandel miteinander verbunden sind. Untersucht werden soll, wie durch die Verschränkung künstlerischer, technologischer und aktivistischer Ansätze neue Formen solidarischen Handelns entstehen können. Uneasy Alliances ist einer von zwei neuen Study Circles, die den Rahmen und einen Teil des Kernprogramms der transmediale 2019 bilden. Mit Bezug auf das Festivalthema bringen die Study Circles Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Aktivist*innen in Arbeitsgruppen vor, während und nach der nächsten Festivalausgabe zusammen, um das Festival durch die frühzeitige Einbindung von Teilnehmer*innen als Ort des Wissensaustauschs zu stärken. Die Study Circles finden dabei in Austausch mit den Berliner Projekträumen Import Projects, Spektrum und TIER.space statt, die vor der transmediale 2019 eine Reihe von Arbeitstreffen ausrichten und parallel zum Festival ein eigenes Programm zu den Themen der Study Circles zeigen.

Die Zersetzung sozialer Beziehungen nimmt sowohl in der Zivilgesellschaft als auch in der digitalen Öffentlichkeit zu. Vor diesem Hintergrund reflektieren die Teilnehmenden von Uneasy Alliances die Entwicklung neuer politischer Sprachen durch sozial engagierte Kunstpraktiken, kollektive Organisation, Gegenöffentlichkeiten und experimentelle technologische Rahmenbedingungen. Ziel des Study Circles ist es, die affektiven Bedingungen von Solidarität – einschließlich des möglichen Unbehagens, das durch das Zusammenbringen heterogener Akteur*innen entstehen kann – zu durchdenken und miteinzubeziehen, wie dies auf produktive Art und Weise neue Handlungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen könnte.  

Der größere Kontext der bei Uneasy Alliances verhandelten Fragen basiert auf den problematischen Bedingungen, die durch die gegenwärtige Politik und Medienlandschaft geschaffen werden. In diesem Rahmen stehen plötzliche emotionale Ausbrüche einer grundsätzlich unzufriedenen Gesellschaft gegenüber, was eine nachhaltige Zusammenarbeit über verschiedene soziale Schichten hinweg zunehmend erschwert. Der durch die zersetzende Wirkung des digitalen Plattformkapitalismus mitgestaltete Atomisierungsprozess schwächt den sozialen Zusammenhalt und macht es schwieriger, sich kollektiv zu organisieren. Als Alternative zu der stetig zunehmenden Fragmentierung, zu hyperindividualistischer Optimierung und Selbstmanagement sowie der drohenden Tech-Gentrifizierung der städtischen Umgebung widmet sich dieser Study Circle den Möglichkeiten, neue affektive Bindungen aufzubauen, um Solidarität, Handeln und Fürsorge zu ermöglichen. Diese Allianzen können Aktivismus über Grenzen von Race, Class und Gender hinweg in den heutigen hybriden städtischen und technologischen Orten sowie neue künstlerische Vorstellungen von Orten, Institutionen und Organisationsformen umfassen – sind aber nicht darauf beschränkt. Allen Ansätzen gemein ist die Forderung nach einem sofortigen Umdenken in Bezug auf Privilegien und Unterdrückung. 

Die Kooperation zwischen transmediale und TIER.space, Spektrum und Import Projects wird aus Mitteln des Landes Berlin, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa gefördert.

Share

Study Circle: Uneasy Alliances

Study Circle: Uneasy Alliances

 
The social and political transformation starts with the small step, the daily call, the weekly demonstration, moving outside our zone of comfort where we all identify with one another toward the uneasy alliance that stands against injustice. — Judith Butler, “This Is What Resistance Looks Like” Lecture, 2017

The Study Circle Uneasy Alliances takes the question of how affect relates to social change as its starting point. It aims to investigate how new forms of acting in solidarity can be built by connecting artistic, tech, and activist approaches. Uneasy Alliances is one of two newly introduced Study Circles that frame the 2019 edition of transmediale and are part of the core program of the festival days. In response to the festival theme, the Study Circles bring together artists, researchers, and activists in working groups taking place before, during, and after transmediale 2019 to strengthen the festival as a site of knowledge exchange by involving participants at an early stage. The Study Circles take place in association with TIER.space, Spektrum, and Import Projects. Before transmediale 2019, the Berlin-based project spaces host a series of working meetings and, parallel to the festival, present their own program on the themes of the Study Circles.

The corrosion of social relations is intensifying within both civil society and the digital public sphere. Against this background, the participants of Uneasy Alliances will reflect on the invention of new political languages through socially engaged art, collective organization, counterpublics, and experimental technological frameworks. The goal of the Study Circle is to think through the affective conditions of solidarity—including the possible uneasiness caused by bringing together heterogeneous actors—and how this could productively inform new actions.

The wider context to Uneasy Alliances and its concerns are the problematic conditions produced by contemporary political and media landscapes. Within these, sudden emotional outbursts contrast with a generally disaffected civil society, making sustained cooperation across different social classes more and more difficult. This process of atomization, co-shaped by the dissolution effects of digital platform capitalism, impairs social cohesion and complicates attempts at collective organization. As an alternative to ever-increasing compartmentalization and hyper-individualist optimization and self-management, as well as impending tech gentrification of the urban environment, this Study Circle turns to the possibilities of building new affective bonds for solidarity, action, and care. These alliances may include—but not be limited to—intersectional activism across class, gender, and race in today’s hybrid urban and technological spaces as well as artistic re-imaginations of places, institutions, and forms of organization. Common to all of these approaches should be a demand for the immediate unlearning of privilege and oppression.

The cooperation between transmediale and TIER.space, Spektrum, and Import Projects is supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

 

Share