Study Circle: Affective Infrastructures

Study Circle: Affective Infrastructures

 
What remains for our pedagogy of unlearning is to build affective infrastructures that admit the work of desire as the work of an aspirational ambivalence. What remains is the potential we have to common infrastructures that absorb the blows of our agressive need for the world to accommodate us [...]. — Lauren Berlant, The Commons: Infrastructures for Troubling Times

Affective Infrastructures stellt das Verständnis des Begriffs der Infrastruktur – und sein Verhältnis zum Affektiven – zur Diskussion. Als einer von zwei neuen Study Circles bildet er den Rahmen und einen Teil des Kernprogramms der transmediale 2019. Mit Bezug auf das Festivalthema bringen die Study Circles Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Aktivist*innen in Arbeitsgruppen vor, während und nach der nächsten Festivalausgabe zusammen, um das Festival durch die frühzeitige Einbindung von Teilnehmer*innen als Ort des Wissensaustauschs zu stärken. Die Study Circles finden dabei in Austausch mit den Berliner Projekträumen Import Projects, Spektrum und TIER.space statt, die vor der transmediale 2019 eine Reihe von Arbeitstreffen ausrichten und parallel zum Festival ein eigenes Programm zu den Themen der Study Circles zeigen.

Affective Infrastructures untersucht, wie Technologien Emotionen erfassen und Körper kontrollieren – und so zur zur Vermittlung und Regulierung des Lebens beitragen. Im Vordergrund steht die Art und Weise, wie auf maschinellem Lesen oder Gesichts- und Spracherkennung basierende Systeme Verhaltensweisen kontrollieren, Gewohnheiten klassifizieren und kollektive Gefühle beeinflussen können. In dem Bewusstsein, dass Affekt selbst eine machtvolle Infrastruktur darstellt, gehen die Teilnehmer*innen des Study Circles folgenden Fragen nach: Wie können wir uns Technologien annähern, die Vielfalt und Verschiedenheit Raum geben? Auf welche Weise lassen sich Kategorien, die Leben und Erfahrungen vordefinieren, komplexer gestalten? Wie können die gelebten Erfahrungen von materiellen und affektiven Infrastrukturen dazu genutzt werden, Körper zu mobilisieren, der Politik neue Impulse zu geben und Veränderung herbeizuführen? Welche Lern- und Handlungsweisen können neue Formen der Weltenbildung stärken?

In Anlehnung an Lauren Berlants Ansatz, Gewohnheiten, Normen, Muster und affektive Gefüge als etwas zu begreifen, das uns miteinander und mit der Welt verbindet, greift der Study Circle im Rahmen seiner Untersuchungen eben diese Elemente auf. Durch das Teilen von Wissen, Reflexionen und Praktiken diskutieren die Teilnehmer*innen Infrastrukturen vor allem im Hinblick auf gelebte Erfahrungen: Zu diesen zählen feministische Server, #MeToo-Online-Listen, Gemeingüter, Cruising und Pilzesammeln  als Manifestationen von Berührungspunkten und verbindenden Momenten.

Die Diskussion reagiert auf Problematiken, die mit Fürsorge und Empathie verbunden sind – und die Formen von Macht und Privilegien, die diese beinhalten. Im Vordergrund steht daher das Potenzial von Räumen, die zwischen Autonomie und gegenseitiger Abhängigkeit, Nicht-Souveränität und Handlungsmacht, Systematik und Unordnung liegen. 
Mit dem Ziel, über hegemoniale Systeme hinauszudenken – und sich über sie hinauszubewegen – widmet sich dieser Study Circle zögerlichen, rauschhaften, imaginativen Infrastrukturen (und Technologien), die affektive Unterschiede, verschiedene Temporalitäten und bedeutungsvolle Komplexitäten umspannen können.  

Die Kooperation zwischen transmediale und TIER.space, Spektrum und Import Projects wird aus Mitteln des Landes Berlin, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa gefördert.

Share

Study Circle: Affective Infrastructures

Study Circle: Affective Infrastructures

 
What remains for our pedagogy of unlearning is to build affective infrastructures that admit the work of desire as the work of an aspirational ambivalence. What remains is the potential we have to common infrastructures that absorb the blows of our agressive need for the world to accommodate us [...]. 
— Lauren Berlant, The Commons: Infrastructures for Troubling Times

Affective Infrastructures revisits the understanding of the notion of infrastructures and its relation to affect. It is one of two newly introduced Study Circles that frame the 2019 edition of transmediale and are part of the core program of the festival days. In response to the festival theme, the Study Circles bring together artists, researchers, and activists in working groups taking place before, during, and after transmediale 2019 in order to strengthen the festival as a site of knowledge exchange by involving participants at an early stage. The Study Circles take place in association with TIER.space, Spektrum, and Import Projects. Before transmediale 2019, the Berlin-based project spaces host a series of working meetings and, parallel to the festival, present their own program on the themes of the Study Circles.

Looking into the ways that contemporary technologies capture emotions and control bodies, Affective Infrastructures examines how they mediate and regulate life. It emphasizes how systems based on machine reading or face and voice recognition can police behaviors, classify habits, and influence collective feeling. Acknowledging affect itself as a powerful infrastructure, the members of the Study Circle ask: How can we move towards technologies that would accommodate multiplicity and difference? In which ways can categories that predefine experiences and lives be complexified? How can the lived experiences of material and affective infrastructures be used to mobilize bodies, energize politics, and bring about change? Which modes of learning and doing can empower new forms of worldbuilding?

Following Lauren Berlant’s approach that habits, norms, patterns, and affective assemblages are what bind us to each other and to the world itself, the Study Circle (re)turns to these elements as part of its exploration. By sharing knowledge, reflections, and practices, the participants discuss infrastructures with regard to lived experience: these include examples such as feminist servers, online #MeToo lists, the commons, cruising for sex and foraging for mushrooms as manifestations of binding moments and points of contact.
 
As a response to the problematics of care and empathy—and the forms of power and privilege that they involve—the potential of spaces that lie between autonomy and interdependency, non-sovereignty and agency, taxonomy and messiness are in the foreground of this discussion. Aiming to think and move beyond hegemonic systems, this Study Circle instead attends to hesitant, delirious, and imaginative living infrastructures (and technologies) that can embrace affective differences, multiple temporalities, and meaningful complexities.

The cooperation between transmediale and TIER.space, Spektrum, and Import Projects is supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Share